SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

HELP! ASI120MC

Spacedonkey1976

Looking for help please. I am a complete newbie to the field, have a great Skywatcher 200p on AQ5 mount and have started to learn the very basics.

Purchased a second hand ZWO ASI120MC that I assumed would just plug and play so I could start taking photos by simply attaching the camera to the eyepiece and linking that to my MAC Book.

I already hear the experienced people laughing at my ignorance and naivety!!

The computer doesn't register the camera at all, ive tried to download software from Astrolive but the mac book wouldnt open that either. Latest operating system updates from Apple all installed ( i hate apple by the way but my windows laptop is dead and this is my wifes computer)

Anyone have any quick fixes/solutions with this problem please?

I am not a computer programmer or laptop expert so please keep the answers simple just like me lol! I understand downloading programs to run the camera and clicking install only. My only rational solution at the moment is the expensive option of buying a windows based laptop that i can understand way easier than this crapbook...sorry macbook.

Can you elaborate on "wouldn't open"?  I'm wondering if you have successfully installed the software, its a bit different on a mac than on windows.  When you open the DMG file you downloaded, it will create an installation file on your desktop which you then need to run.

Ive just downloaded an older version of aoCapture that actually opened after install. I tried to install the newest version and the computer wouldnt let me do anything with it at all. Now i can see the main menu for the older version, selected the ASI camera option but i cant see the preview/camera view at all. its a USB2 connection i think...god i used to be a bit of geek on the old windows systems as a kid, seems now im 42 that i'm nearly in the bracket of just about able to turn a computer on!