SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Greetings from New York

MikeV

Hi everyone,

I happened upon this site while doing what we all do when we are not out observing or imaging - searching for ways to part with more money on astro gear :-).  I'm an avid amateur astronomer from New York who has been looking up for more years than not and have interests in visual observing, imaging and sharing my passion for astronomy with others. I have served as an officer and president of our local astronomy club for many years and never tire of the look of amazement and delight on the faces of people the first time they look through a telescope. I have found that there is nothing like doing an outreach event to rekindle your own sense of wonder.

I have a love for solar viewing as well both white light and h-alpha and have been known to chase an eclipse or two. Astronomy themed travel is something that I really enjoy and I am look forward to sharing some of my travel experiences with the group.

MikeV

Hello MikeV

welcome to SGL

you will find a lot of like minded people here, look forward to hearing about those experiences :happy11:

Is that not difficult observing in New York? would imagine the light pollution would be horrendous, i assume you travel to the outskirts of the city?

26 minutes ago, JemC said:

Is that not difficult observing in New York? would imagine the light pollution would be horrendous, i assume you travel to the outskirts of the city?