SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Info about Magnification

I am still amateur observer. I have a 130Eq Astromaster, Provided with 10mm and 20mm eyepieces(650mm focal length). I would Like to know which eyepiece should i use for view Saturn (rings). I also want to see deep sky objects. I am planning to take my telescope in a remote place at around 25 march(less light polluted sky) So before that I want advice on which eyepiece should i buy.

Thanking in Anticipation 

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. I would suggest that you look at the post “Eyepieces-the very least you will need “ which is in the Getting Started sub forum. As to specific makes of eyepiece you have to give your budget before we can make any suggestions.

3 hours ago, Atharv Salwekar said:

.......I would Like to know which eyepiece should I use........

The mathematics behind a telescopes magnification is to take the focal length of the telescope and divide that by the focal length of the eyepiece.

The focal length of your scope is 650mm therefore providing  you with 65x magnification from your 10mm eyepiece and 32.6x magnification from your 20mm eyepiece.

Starting with your 20mm, this will give you a lower power / magnification and a wider field of view. Anything shorter than 20mm will provide a sequentially  higher power with a narrower field of view and anything larger /longer than 20mm the obverse.

I always start with low power, working my way to the higher powers depending on the seeing conditions, until the image is displayed at its best without distortion/blur. I find lower powers often provide the sharper cleaner images, even if the eyepiece focal lengths are close, say an 8mm and 12mm, the longer 12mm will/should provide the better detail, depending on the seeing conditions and the quality of your telescopes setup and its ability to capture light and provide a solid detailed image.