Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M42 first 2 exposure image

vernmid

Hi all,

Rather pleased with my M42 from last night. This is my first attempt at blending 2 different length exposures.  (120 seconds and 15 seconds)

Also first attempt using Arcsinh stretching

25 * 120 seconds ISO800

20 * 15 seconds ISO800

130PDS guide on an EQ5

If anyone could kindly offer some advice as to how to reduce the orangey sky at the bottom it would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Vern

5a785a5b768fd_M42Merged.thumb.jpg.617e55199f561919c6ff2b8cfb99130d.jpg

Lovely image. What software do you use for postprocessing? From your reference to arcsinh stretching, I'd say your either using Photoshop or PixInsight. It seems to me that the red is mainly due to more noise in the red channel. You can remove it with DBE in PixInsight, or Gradient Exterminator (plugin) in PS. Running arcsinh stretch a little less aggressive, and topping it off with a curves stretch, can also reduce it.

3 hours ago, wimvb said:

Lovely image. What software do you use for postprocessing? From your reference to arcsinh stretching, I'd say your either using Photoshop or PixInsight. It seems to me that the red is mainly due to more noise in the red channel. You can remove it with DBE in PixInsight, or Gradient Exterminator (plugin) in PS. Running arcsinh stretch a little less aggressive, and topping it off with a curves stretch, can also reduce it.

I used photoshop and the arcsinh  instructions generously posted here by Mark Shelly (Apologies if the name is incorrect!). I made myself and arcsinh action and have had some success with it. I did use a trial noise reduction plugin XiDenoiser and I am wondering if it somehow converted high frequency noise to something orange an blotchy! I have tried AstroFlat Pro plugin to flatten but this removes some of the detail. I think maybe a reprocess with (as you said) a less aggressive arcsinh and skipping the denoise may be interesting.