Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ6-R owners club

mikey2000

I was rather lucky with my Christmas Bonus and splurged on a new mount to replace my EQ3 Pro Synscan....  Yep, I took delivery of a shiny, new, heavy, glorious EQ6-R from FLO.

It's sort of hard to find much about this mount.  It's still rather new, in astronomical terms.     I thought I'd start a thread for EQ6-R owners to post there views and comments, hopefully for the benefit of those wondering about an upgrade.

I'm new to astronomy and astrophotography, having been given a 130P (on EQ2) in 2015, upgraded to EQ3 Pro SynScan (aluminium legs) (and 150PDS) in 2016 then finally buying myself the (hopefully) Final Mount Upgrade to EQ6-R for Christmas 2017.

I learned a lot from the EQ3 DSO Challenge thread and spent the last year learning to guide with my EQ3.   Super-thread, Super-Contributors.  I can't speak highly enough of that thread.  But my EQ3 was prone to dec 'leaps' and had an annoying short duration periodic errors.  It was limiting my photos.

So, after some research, I ended up buying an EQ6-R over a HEQ6, NEQ6 or whatever the AltAzEq6 mount is called.   The price jump to the AZ/EQ just pushed it out of my already broken comfort zone.

Then it arrived.  Blinking Heck - I knew it would be substantial but no photo can prepare you for the size-jump from EQ3 ro EQ6.  The tripod is much bigger, sturdier and of course, better (the leg adjustments are so much easier now!)  Then you unpack the actual mount head.  What a lump!  It's like comparing a lego motor to a v8 5.0.