Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Coma Correction

Buzzard75

I received an ES 30mm 82-series eyepiece for Christmas and have only had one opportunity to use it since. I used it in my Orion 12" dob. While viewing the Orion Nebula I noted that the stars towards the core of the Trapezium were fairly well focused, however, the ones towards the edge tended to be more stretched. I'm not an expert on the matter and not having really seen an example of it before, it's my understanding this is what coma looks like and is fairly common in fast scopes such as mine, which is an f/5. I didn't see any scattering of color so I don't believe it's chromatic aberration. The fast scope coupled with the wide field of view from the eyepiece just seems to be a recipe for disaster. I have a handful of other eyepieces, an ES 14mm 82-series included, and don't seem to have the issue with any other eyepiece. Has anyone else experienced the same issue with the combination of a large aperture f/5 and such a wide FOV, long focal length eyepiece? Am I misinterpreting what I'm seeing? Do I just need to buy a coma corrector and go on my merry way?

Rack your focuser on either side of focus with a bright star near the edge of the 30mm ES-82.  If it stretches tangentially on one side of focus and radially on the other (either as ovals or lines perpendicular to each other), you're looking at astigmatism rather than coma.  If it fans out away from the center toward the edge on either side of focus, that's coma.

I have the 100° es with my 10" f4.7 and there is definitely some coma. It is inherent with this type of system. It is really just at the very outer edge of fov and you have to look to see it so doesn't both me to much. One day I'll get a paracor but no rush as it's a huge outlay.

7 hours ago, Louis D said: