Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The Cave Nebula, Sh2-155

lux eterna

Hi all,

This one is a composite from two of my telescopes :

TS APO with reducer = FL 550mm F5.1 iso 800 : 13x20 min Ha + 6x20 min OIII
    TS Imaging Star 71  = FL 350mm F5    iso 200 : 82x3 min RGB (only Hutech IDAS LPS-D1 used)

I am new to NB processing, so I followed this tutorial but also improvised some.
Weather did not permit more OIII data, so I squeezed as much as I could out of it. To start with, I only used the green channel from those subs because that channel had the strongest signal.
Filters are Astronomik 2" 12nm. Today I would have used iso 200 even for the NB pics, not 800, since I just learned that 200 is the optimal setting for my (dual) Nikon D7000´s.
The small APO was attached to the HEQ5 Pro CW bar so imaging was done with both scopes simultaneously. 3 minutes exposures is max for the secondary camera due to some remaining flex in that part of the rig which I have not (yet) managed to cancel out.  
Stars removed with Straton, then the Ha/OIII image and the wide field RGB image were aligned with Registar and blended together in PS.
All C&C is most welcome.

CS
Ragnar

cave.thumb.jpg.19e8dd600f5a2667afcaf73aa7568503.jpg

Very nice indeed Ragnar ?

Would you mind posting your starless image as well please? I'm curious how good Straton is at this. I currently just use of of Annie's actions, but if I like Straton's results I might give it a go

1 hour ago, Xiga said:

Very nice indeed Ragnar ?

Would you mind posting your starless image as well please? I'm curious how good Straton is at this. I currently just use of of Annie's actions, but if I like Straton's results I might give it a go