Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Opinion on Pentax 20x60

pluton

Hello,
I am thinking seriously about buying a serious binocular to observe planes at high altitude, (not airports) and I have seen in the forum that some use the pentax 20x60 for that purpose, and I would like to know your opinion about it to observe mostly aircraft I have tripod and monopod also, -
I also like to observe the Moon and birds in the distance ...
I would also like to know if the field provided by the Pentax is enough for this type of observation and if you have had problems with black out (kidney been)
many thanks
regards
Paul

I have no experience with the Pentax, but I frequently use my Russian 20x60 Kronos binos to look at aircraft. These may have significantly wider field than the Pentax (~3+ degrees), but also much shorter eye relief. In practice, with glasses on, the real field of view is probably similar. I haven’t had any problems finding or holding aircraft in view with these, but much will depend on how fluid your tripod head is. 

The Pentax have very good reviews and if it wasn’t for the narrow FOV (more important for DSOs), and the fact that I already have 20x60s, I would probably have bought a pair myself. 

I have a pair among my arsenal. I like them. I think they'd suit your purpose quite well. Only observation I'd make is that they do have a narrower FoV but you're aware of that. It bothers some and not others... Like me.

I've had no problems with Kidney beaning. I use them on a monopod with trigger grip, but more often than not hand held. Everyone's tolerances are different. But for me I can use them that way relatively easily...

Same here. Bought these after the 12x50s. When we got them 6 years ago the Nikon AE were their chief competitor in the various comparos we read by EdZ of CN, with the comparable Nikons edging these out, but not enough to justify the added cost for us.