Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

anyone here using Astroberry

gajjer

For some time now I have been thinking of using a Raspberry Pi to do the guiding activity on my scope. I've been distracted by other things for a while but just recently I saw reference to Astroberry.

Now forgive me here because I have little knowledge of software. I have written stuff in assembler for PICs but Linux is beyond me and I don't understand what VNC and all that milarky is about.

So, I got the image of Astroberry onto a 16Gb SD card and plugged it into a Pi 3 model B V1.2 . This has a plug in WLAN usb dongle thingy.  Fired it up and had some success. However, when I go to configure the WLAN the box

where I should be able to enter the Network Name is just a blank area ; it doesn't allow me to enter anything there, but it does allow me to enter a password - which then gives an error that I should

have entered a network name. This is why I am a hardware engineer!!

What I am hoping to do is set the Pi up to run PHD2 out by the mount - headless. Then to set it up on the PC in my nice warm house, while I sip my Horlics and munch on a scone.

Am I expecting too much?

Can anyone help?

Is anyone out there using it succesfully?

cheers

gaj

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi

I've been putting together a Pi3 guider - have bee doing it in stages. I actually started with trying to use Lin-guider but have moved over to the Indi server and PHD2 (under Ubuntu).