Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Another imaging beginner

sedm1809

Hello everyone - I have never taken any astro images but it's been something I've been thinking of more and more when I'm out observing. I'm not aiming to win any competitions, but I would like to be able to keep a record of what I've observed and hopefully capture a bit more detail compared to what can be seen at the eyepiece. Mostly I like open clusters/globulars and the brighter galaxies and nebulae. Also double stars and planets but I'd say this was secondary.

I'm in suburban Bristol so light pollution is an issue but not as bad as some - no direct lights in back garden. I have an EQ5 mount and (will have, when I upgrade from my current tube) a 150mm Newtonian reflector.

So I'd be grateful if anyone could give me an idea of the issues I need to think about at this stage. I have a few questions which I will only be able to get away with as a complete novice:

1) What is autoguiding and how does it work? I had assumed that it would be sufficient for my purposes to have a polar aligned scope with a clock drive?

2) I'm not interested in 'terrestrial' photography so would it be better (£ for £) to have a dedicated astro (CCD?) camera rather than a DSLR?

3) How do you go about locating a target with a camera attached to the eyepiece? What I want to do is to enjoy my observing as usual, starhop to a target I like, then pop in a camera and take a few exposures which I can manipulate with software later to build an image. Is this viable or does the camera require lots of set-up/calibration?

4) How powerful a computer is necessary for the editing process?

5) Are there any other major considerations I need to worry about?

Many thanks for your help - sorry if this all sounds hopelessly naïve!

Hi