Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Total newbie to VA/EAA

A40farinagolf

Hi,

I'm looking for a bit of general advice as I fancy having a go at VA and I can't decide on the way forward as I have too many options.

My current kit is listed in my signature, I chop and change my Astro equipment on a regular basis as that is one of the things I like about the hobby. (Fortunately my wife is very understanding so getting new kit is not an issue)

As a result I don't really master any one astro subject but I have fun using different kit which is the main thing. 

I don't have an EQ mount just an ioptron minitower pro. at the moment, I suppose ultimately I'd like to end up with reasonably portable set up that would allow me to do EAA, AP and visual.

Options:

1) Use my existing ioptron mount in AZ mode with a new EAA camera - probably a Atik Horizon (colour) with my 130mm and 80mm fracs.

2) Buy an ioptron IEQ45 Pro mount and use my modified Canon 600D (assuming it can do EAA) and Eagle core for control and guiding.  (unfortunately my budget won't stretch to a new IEQ45 and a new Atik Horizon)

3) Buy an ioptron CEM25P mount and an Atik Horizon (colour) and use with my 80mm frac.  and Eagle core for control and guiding.

What would you do? Different EAA camera? Different mount? Any suggestions would be gratefully received.

You could try it first with your existing mount and camera to see what kind of results you get.   You'll probably get some edge artifacts, especially with the Horizon or your DSLR as they have a big sensor, but you can crop it out.  You could probably get away with up to 30 second exposures depending on what part of the sky you're looking at (East/West).  I've done up to 35s with my Celestron 130SLT (smaller sensor).   Though I have guided in the past, I don't guide on a regular basis.  For an EQ mount, depending on how good your polar alignment is, you should be able to get by without guiding up to 1 minute.