Narrowband

Aurora Flatfield Panel help !!!

Hi all.. not really sure if is the right section for this topic so please if you could point me to the right direction would be much appreciated  :)

I'm quite new to astrophotography and not to technical processing and dealing with programs ...   I'm using  a 4" refractor on a Heq5 pro mount and a Atik 460ex color camera with the Artemis Capture Software provided with the camera . I was advice to do flats ,darks and bias to improve my images and that's why recently i bought a Aurora Flatfield Panel ( seems that my camera does not need darks ) and i would like to ask other users who might have the same camera as me how many seconds should i aim,for perfect flats or bias  ? Any help on would be greatly appreciated.

thx Dan

For the bias you want as short an exposure as possible so that there is no time for any 'dark' noise to build up and you're only getting the 'readout' noise from the camera, I believe 0.001s is the shortest you can go on the 460ex.

For the flats you want the histogram peak to be about 1/3 to 1/2 way across, about 20000 - 30000 ADU. It's not critical, you just want the edges of the histogram peak to be well away from the top or bottom clipping point. You want the exposure to be short enough that 'dark' noise is insignificant but long enough that any flicker or other effects on your light panel don't cause a problem. Aim for around 0.5 seconds or so. If your image is overexposed at that exposure put some sheets of white paper in front of the light panel to reduce its intensity.

You might think that when putting sheets of paper in front, it's no longer an 'even illumination' light source as the grain of the paper is visible, but at that distance the paper is so out of focus on the sensor it's not a problem. :smile:

You're right in that it's not necessary to take darks for the 460EX. Use your 'bias' as a 'dark' when calibrating your images.

Alan