Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best locations to view the Milky Way in South West?

I’m planning a holiday to South West UK in June in the week of the new moon and thought if I’m going to the lovely light pollution free South West I should take the opportunity to try to see the Milky Way (not a possibility in my local area outside London!). I’m trying to choose between locations in Cornwall, Devon or Dorset but I have very little stargazing experience here. Recommendations for the best chances of seeing the Milky Way in all its glory would be highly appreciated.

I'd have thought that the moors would give you the best possible opportunity.  I'm right on the edge of Exmoor in west Somerset and on a good night the Milky Way looks lovely from here (and M31 is just visible to the naked eye as well).  I'm sure there will be other good places, perhaps a little nearer what passes for "civilisation" that might be more convenient however.  It's really a question of balancing what else you might do against your astronomy desires in the event that the lovely summer weather in the south west turns out to be somewhat less clement than desirable :)

James

The 3 main moorlands, Bodmin moor, Dartmoor & Exmoor are all good dark sites. Here are another couple of links with more information

http://www.darkskydiscovery.org.uk/ highlights Bodmin moor & Exmoor

https://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/getoutside/guides/top-5-dark-sky-locations-in-great-britain/  mentions Exmoor

https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lists/stargazing-in-the-south-west has some additional sites in Cornwall

31 minutes ago, Demonperformer said:

Here's a rough guide (The link opens at worldwide scale, just zoom in on SW England).

That pollution map really is quite depressing. We in the UK are in one of the worst possible countries for LP, you just can't get away from it (within reason) unless you live in the far North of Scotland :(

11 minutes ago, parallaxerr said: