Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Cone Error and Guiding

Jammy

Happy new year everyone!

I've recently started drift aligning, and also tried using the PHD2 drift alignment tool.  I'm still new to this but I'm slowly getting better at it with practice.

After doing this I've noticed just how badly I have my polar scope aligned within the mount.  I decided to correct this at the weekend against Polaris by adjusting the screws, and this got me wondering about cone error.  Unfortunately the clouds rolled in before I could check how bad (or good) it is.

Does cone error affect how good your guiding will be?  I'm using PHD2 and an OAG for giuding through my C9.25 SCT.

I've read a few things now about cone error, and know my mount corrects this with a 3 star alignment (NEQ6 Pro).  However does this mean the DEC is constantly changing to compensate?  Would guiding be smoother if I managed to remove (or reduce) the cone error?

I also understand about SCT mirror flop and that this can give false cone error readings.  I think I'm quite lucky though as my SCT hardly has any mirror flop at all.

When I do get chance to go outside again and check, if I find any cone error, should I bother correcting this, or am I wasting my time?

I'm not sure how to shim the standard Celestron vixen style dovetail bar anyway if I need to.  Two screws one end, and one screw the other.

I'm going to check it anyway, just out of curiosity.  I've only had the scope 5 years and never throught to check it before :)

Cone error does not affect guiding at all. It only has an impact on goto's (at least at the levels of cone error you can normally expect to see).

Your three star alignment takes cone error into account on its gotos. The mount will not take the three star alignment into account when guiding - only when slewing.

As I understand it cone error is to do with star alignment..polar alignment is totally different..separate subject..