Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Canon banding becoming over powering.

I have noticed my banding problem getting worse.

Its causing problems, there's good software to tackle it but now its getting worse its still visible after all the tricks I have learnt.

I have been using N/B filters and longer exposures for a couple of months.

My last session is the worst and only 600s exposures when I have been using upto 30 minute exposures with less banding.

Question.. Should the banding get worse over time and use, I'm guessing its to do with the sensor.

My Camera is a self modified 1200D, If I get the colour bayer array removed would this help ?

Or am I in desperate need of a new camera.

A sample below, 21 x 600s ISO800 12nm Ha clip filter, dithered. Gradient wiped and stretched to show the banding, and a worked on image. Detail is getting lost in trying to reduce the bands.

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

I have tried StarTools banding, PS add on's, PI trial and canon digital photo pro. Each has its improvements but non can completely resolve the problem yet.

cone-HaforSGL.thumb.JPG.c7d855f8c844f3463818208703f8f55a.JPGCone-Ha-banded-contrast.thumb.JPG.25702c1ad4d6ab540aae0ecf8260521e.JPG

Cheers

Nige.

Edited by Nigel G

Daft question probably but could there be a power cable near the USB cable, or are you using a usb hub? I only ask because I got banding with my Canon when I ran the usb cable beside (in same duct as) the 12v power cable.

Ive used four Canons avd never seen this except when above issue arose. Is it specific to 1200d?

I've seen this in the past in various canon cameras, IMO it's temperature related, try checking the internal camera temp in the EXIF data for subs where it's better and where it's worse.

The more you stretch the data the more the banding shows, so for the shorter exposures it may look worse because you're having to stretch it harder.