Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How to improve viewing?

Hi all, I'm hoping for a diagnosis as to why I'm seeing Jupiter the way I'm seeing it.    I'm still a total newbie having got my first telescope at the start of December and managing half a dozen sessions since then.  My scope is a Skywatcher Heritage 114P Virtuoso (114/500 F4.38).

When viewing Jupiter this morning (in Glasgow 6:30 - 7:30) and on a previous occasion it's been very bright and I've only had very fleeting hints of bands.  I've attached a still and a link to a short video clip.  I've got no plans for astrophotography but having a smartphone attached at times is helpful for my 4 year old daughter and the video clip is a fair representation of what I was seeing through the eyepiece.  

This was viewing through a 6mm plossl and 2x Barlow (167x) but the image was similar but smaller using the 6mm alone.  The scope was given about 45mins calling time (outside temp was -2)

I know there are a number of factors in play here, but the ones that came to mind are:

• Should I be using a filter to lessen the brightness of Jupiter?
  • Is my fine-tuning of the focuser not quite good enough yet?
  • How much of the problem is the fact my table is on a decking that has a bit of shake.
  • Will setting up the Virtuoso's motorised tracking ability improve the image?
  • The "seeing" wasn't good enough?
  • I've reached the limit of the scope?
  • I could try a higher eyepiece and take it up towards the max 228x (although even at 167x the exit pupil is down to 0.7mm)
  • Something else entirely I've not thought of.

Any suggestions that will help me improve my viewing much appreciated.

Thanks

David

Video - Jupiter 27 Dec

jupiterstill.jpg

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply