Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Focus problem with SX mini-wheel kit

jadcx

Hi

I’ve recently got some shiny new kit, and last night was the first clear skies here when I had the opportunity to try it all out.  This is not my first time observing, so I’m well prepared for unexpected issues, but it is my first time ccd imaging.  There was lots of learning, including; cable management needs to be better, I (still) never have the right USB cable, and the focus tube needs some mechanical refining to address slippage.  But the problem I’m not sure how to solve is one of focus.

I bought the SW Trius 814 kit (Trius 814, mini usb filter wheel with OAG, and Lodestar X2) and naively thought that perhaps if it was sold together it would all work together.  And maybe it does, I’m not immune to stupidity :)

I could achieve focus with the 814 relatively easily, and even captured a test image and solved it in Ekos, all very heart warming.  But I couldn’t then get focus with the Lodestar X2 (attached to the integrated OAG in the mini wheel) without pulling the focus tube out considerably further (approx. 50-80mm I didn’t measure).  This obviously isn’t ideal.  Am I missing something?

The setup is:

ED80 -> Field flattener -> filterwheel with OAG ->  Trius 814  with the Lodestar attaches directly to the OAG.

All advice appreciated, and please don’t imagine that I won’t have missed something ‘obvious’ :) 

Thanks

Justin

Hi, it all sounds correct to me, thre SX kit is designed to all work together and the lodestar should focus within the range of the movement of the OAG stem...have you got a picture of the SX kit all set up as you had it last night...sometimes a picture can show much more than trying to explain.. :)

1 hour ago, jadcx said:

No, I don’t have a picture but I *thought* I was trying to focus by moving the Lodestar up and down on the prism post.