SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What is the telescope's prime magnification with NO eyepiece lens?

Hi everyone!
I am new to astrophotography so please pardon me if my inquiry is a novice question.
I have a Canon EOS DSLR camera. I also have a Galileo brand 700x76mm reflector telescope with 1.25" eyepiece.
I just ordered a T-mount for Canon DSLRs and a t-ring 1.25" adapter to slide into my telescope. (from B&H)
Those adapter parts will arrive later this week.
I will be viewing it in the prime configuration where I will use no eyepiece lens.
I may or may not need a Barlow lens in this configuration. (I have been told it depends upon the telescope, whether or not you need a Barlow, so I will buy that later if I end up needing it to reach the telescope's focal plane).

My question is:
How much magnification will I see from the telescope's mirrors alone with no eyepiece glass and no Barlow lens in between the telescope's focuser and my camera's sensor?
What is the magnification that the telescope's mirrors alone create with no eyepiece in the focuser?

I know that if I have to drop in a Barlow lens, that will change the magnification depending on the Barlow's power.
I was just wondering how large the moon will look compared to what I see with the naked eye.
I know that if I was using an eyepiece, I would simply divide the 700mm focal length by the eyepiece size (700mm/20mm= 35x magnification or 700mm /6mm = 117x magnification) etc...

Thanks!
icon_salut.gif

twothumbsup.gif
Banane09.gifparty05.gifastronomer1.gif

•  

The scope just does the focusing, it's the eyepiece that does the magnification. I'm no expert in AP but I think you're really asking about image scale matching with the camera chip size. I'll leave that for an imager to answer in more detail - and better than I can explain. :)

• Like 1

No magnification, you need an eyepiece and an eyeball for magnifiv=cation.