Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

• Announcements

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_widefield.jpg.36065d79cb2625eb299137a5b4432c96.jpg

Stars

Light Pollution - can you help??

Stars    0

Hi- I'm a third year design student based in Sheffield looking for some help with a project!

The aim of the project is to educate and inform the public about light pollution and why it is becoming an increasingly common issue, and what we can do to combat it. Making more people cognisant of what is happening is an important focus. I plan to create a product that could potentially help to reduce light pollution in city centres, alongside a campaign to raise awareness.

I would love to hear from this community how light pollution personally affects the stargazing experience, and if anyone has any suggestions about what they'd like to see being done! Any responses would be greatly appreciated!

Stars    0
2 minutes ago, Demonperformer said:

I presume you have been in touch with the Campaign for Dark Skies?

I haven't yet but I will be sure to get in contact with them!

I'd also love to hear from the stargazing community themselves about how it personally affects them and why it's an issue :)

brantuk    3,162

Apart from the obvious waste of energy and increase of air pollutants lighting the world up at night, finding a dark site to view and image the night sky is becoming increasingly challenging and invariably entails driving somewhere (causing yet more air pollution). Even then it's not always totally dark.