SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First telescope & mount for beginner

Hello

I'm a keen amateur photographer and have recently developed an interest in viewing more of the night sky. I have until now taken photos of the Moon with my Sigma 150-600 mm so I'm not totally clueless with photography in general. 

However I'd now like to see more of the night sky and would love to start viewing Nebulae and Star clusters etc. so I'm therefore looking at buying my first telescope. Having done a fair bit of reading up on telescopes yesterday it's clear that there's as much that goes into it as there is a beginner getting to grips with photography - and quite frankly I'm a bit overwhelmed at the moment. 

My aims are to view the aforementioned objects and places in the deep sky with a view to hopefully recording some photographs with my Canon 80D DSLR in the future. After reading about I think that the Sky-Watcher Explorer 200P EQ5 Parabolic Telescope is well reviewed and would be a good first telescope? 

It sounds as though it would be a good starting point in terms of upgrade-ability too?

My budget is around £500 and for starting out I really don't want to spend more than this but I have a feeling that I would enjoy it. I can feel the hairs on the back of my neck stand up when just sitting and star gazing on a clear night, thinking about the Universe, so if I can see more than that with a good telescope hopefully I'd be very happy, and if you can offer any advice to get me started I'd be greatly appreciative.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think your first step is to purchase this book:  https://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html  Astrophotography is an expensive hobby and this book will show you all that is required to make informed decisions about purchasing equipment.