Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Python and Astronomy / PyCon 2017 Keynote

Nice video. I relatively recently (in the scheme of things) converted from Matlab to Python and never looked back. I also use his book extensively for teaching Python Data Science (also freely available as a bunch of Jupyter Notebooks on the web). Definitely the way to go for developing astronomy apps.

Martin

I cannot quite make the (complete) switch from Matlab to Python. I've been using Matlab daily for nearly 11 years now, and it is kind of my goto-response when I want to do something very quickly. I try to assign certain projects and tasks as Python-only. Some are by definition, because sometimes Matlab is just, well, Matlab. Maybe I'll get there someday.

Sven

It was an interesting video but I  know very little about Python. Actually my ignorance is such that I actually thought that Python was developed for the Raspberry Pi. Yes, I know, I know :icon_scratch:

Py=Pi. No? Easy mistake! :)

Thanks for this - bookmarked to watch!  I'm just starting a PhD analysing Comet 67P data and am working my way up the Python learning curve.  I'm trying to be disciplined and learn it properly rather than just botch something together for what I need to do at any one time!  If anyone has particular recommendations for learning resources for data reduction etc I'd be very interested!!

Thanks

Helen

12 hours ago, Helen said:

Thanks for this - bookmarked to watch!  I'm just starting a PhD analysing Comet 67P data and am working my way up the Python learning curve.  I'm trying to be disciplined and learn it properly rather than just botch something together for what I need to do at any one time!  If anyone has particular recommendations for learning resources for data reduction etc I'd be very interested!!

Thanks

Helen