SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

EQ8 confusion with EQMOD

swag72

Trying to get  my EQ8 setup and hitting a brick wall....... I hope someone can help.

I have loaded the following on my PC.

ASCOM platform 6.3
EQMOD

The EQ8 is connecting to EQMOD and I can move it via the EQMOD screen. But I cannot find anywhere an option for the EQ8. The connection in the EQMOD screen is showing HEQ5/6, in ASCOM tools it's not giving me any EQ8 option ..... am I missing something? Surely I can't run an EQ8 when the PC thinks that it's an HEQ5? When I connect to CdC again I am not getting any EQ8 option.

At least it's connected I suppose..... albeit it thinks it's something else.

I wonder whether since they are of the same "family" whether the HEQ5/6 mode serves for EQ8 too, especially since it seems to work with it and all that's wrong is that EQMod/CdC just needs it's menu updating. 

But since I am not technical Sara, it's only a guess.

Carole 

Carole is correct ( I think ) you just connect using the HEQ5/6 EQMOD- As I do with a AZEQ6 (no special driver). They all use the same protocol - only the elecrical (data) interface(pins) is different (i.e. RJ45, DB9 etc). This will be the same selection in CDC as you are calling up the Ascom/EQMOD. Try it during the day and I bet it works - assuming you have the correct cables ! Clear Skies

2 minutes ago, Cornelius Varley said:

From the start menu go to Eqmod and the select Setup Eqascom. Select the pulldown menu "Mount Options" and then select "custom" from the two options. Press the tool button to open a new dialogue box. From there you can select select EQ8 as the mount.

Thanks Peter..... done that now...... I think that was what I was looking for.