SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

just saying hello

Alan Davis

I am fairly new to astronomy. I started getting interested because of a chap a few doors down from me who is always out in his front 
garden with his telescope. He let me have a look through it and I was gobsmacked by what I saw.

I am currently using a small telescope he dont use anymore. Its ok but i would like to get something better. I would like to start 
taking pictures but he said that is a dark art that will absorbe all my money and effort I can give it and still want more. He 
might be more convincing if he was not taking pictures most nights I see him out. :laugh:

He said I should have a look at this site to find out all about it and possibly join. So here I am. I wont be able to give much 
back to the forum for the advice I get but I can at least say hello.

"Hello"

Alan

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Alan

Welcome to SGL. The answer to your question about imaging is passion. If you really can't stop yourself then nothing we say will stop you from getting the gear. If you just want to dabble. Why not pop around your neighbors house and see what he does and then you will know if it's for you. 

The most basic setup from a cheap point of view would be dslr and maybe a star adventurer tracker with a dslr and lens. 

Its not a dark art but lots to learn for sure and expensive. 

At any rate choose something that you will enjoy. 

Gerry

Hi Alan, welcome to the wonderful world of SGL :icon_biggrin:

The chap down the road speaks the truth, it really can become expensive and there are plenty on here who will quite happily confirm this, 
it can however still be done on a limited budget, you just need to spend your money wisely, 

have a look through some of the threads on here this should give you some idea on costs, if it's what you really want to do, i would say go for it and have fun,

look forward to seeing your first image,