Narrowband

About to go on my first adventure

Zauriel

Hi SGL, as I'm sure you can tell from the title I'm about to attempt my first look through a scope I plan on doing this on my own my son wants to come but seeing as its the first time and kids being kids the dad I'm bored, dad there's nothing to see can get rather tedious for both father and son and that in there lies the problem being a complete newbie to this and not knowing what, where or even how to find anything ( have just started reading turn left at orion this week ) can anyone suggest some basic guidelines to follow  that will serve me well, I'm sure once I've had a few outings and seen at least something learnt how to use a scope etc. having my son along to experience it will be worth the wait not just for him but for me to see and hear his reaction.

How old is your son? I agree, if he's really young, he might get bored or frustrated while you're figuring out how to use the telescope, but once you get accustomed to setting it up , pointing, and focusing, then it can become a common goal to find objects to look at, and you can both learn together. A good book or some guide to celestial objects can help with the decision of what to look at on a given night, plus educate you about what you're looking at. If you haven't discovered it yet, Stellarium is an excellent computer program to add (it's free). It's a virtual sky, and when you go to it, it shows the sky as you see it in your back yard, so the stars and constellations will be in familiar places. It's also great for those cloudy nights, or rainy days, when you want to look at things and can't go outside. You can go forward or backward in time, so daytime viewing can be for that night's sky.

Just take your time, it will all come together. Skywatching truly is an adventure.