Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Is hiring a good idea before buying

Hi, if anyone viewing this would know I'm extremely new to this hobby as my previous posts would suggest, whilst stumbling around google trying to find a localish shop that sells scopes/dobs  ( I want some hands on before I purchase ) I found this link http://www.darkskytelescopehire.co.uk/course/8-skywatcher-200mm-dobsonian-telescope-2/ they're an hour away from me and after doing a little research after some direction from the SGL members I think this or something similar is what I'm looking for. At £50 for a weeks hire plus extra add ons included I see this as a win win for me, if it doesn't work out then yeah im £50 out of pocket but surely better that than spend £250-£300 only to get the same result. Can anyone see any drawbacks or is this something I should jump into head first for my first ever attempt.

If there is no nearby astronomical society where you could probably try a similar telescope for free then it's not a bad idea. Bear in mind that one week in the UK doesn't guarantee much viewing, keep an eye on the forecast before hiring.  :icon_biggrin:

Your nearest dealer is First Light Optics who are at Exeter and a very nice bunch of people :icon_biggrin:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/

I think you need to phone / e.mail ahead if you want to visit to see something.

At Bristol Astro Society we have regular star parties and scope clinics so those might be worth considering ?:

http://www.bristolastrosoc.org.uk/www/

1 hour ago, John said:

Your nearest dealer is First Light Optics who are at Exeter and a very nice bunch of people :icon_biggrin:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/

I think you need to phone / e.mail ahead if you want to visit to see something.

At Bristol Astro Society we have regular star parties and scope clinics so those might be worth considering ?: