Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher Mak 150 tips

Hello, i have recently purchased a Skywatcher 150 Mak Cassegrain, i have no experience with this design, my intent is mainly visual planetary/lunar mostly, i will be swapping between my Lunt and the skywatcher on my grand polaris mount which is beefy and rock solid, should be no problem holding the 150.

i was wondering if i can pic the brains of those who have experience with Mak's, any suggestions on accessories which are a must have? eyepiece specifications which may suit it best since it does offer a narrow FOV? I'm aware that a dew shield is a must.

fire away and tell me what you believe should be partnered with that scope, id love to hear it thanks!!

Skywatcher 150.jpg

I do 90% of my work with a Vixen NPL 30mm eyepiece which at 50x on my scope is a great all rounder. I don’t use GOTO so anything but planetary is an absolute killer due to the narrow Fov.  If I had more money (any money ha ha) I think I would throw it all on a good quality 60mm finder, I think in the meantime I’ll get a Telrad I’ve been told they’re a lifesaver for Maks!

Probably is worth to buy a Crayford dual speed focuser for your Mak..people says it's a huge improvement..

By the way,I've own Mak 180,can prove it's a very good scope with high penetrating optic..

5a08745df222d_ScreenHunter_122Nov_1217_18.jpg.f089a1f6912fbeb3d4297ad26107c820.jpg

I think really effective dew prevention gear is an essential with all designs with a big chunk of glass right up the front end - they are "dew magnets" !. At the least a dew shield and for "belt and braces", a heated dew strip as well.

Most eyepieces will work fine with the scope.

They are not wide field scopes and the largest true field you can get from them will be a touch less than 1 degree. A 32mm plossl or a 24mm 68 degree wide angle eyepiece will deliver that. many deep sky objects will fit into a 1 degree field though.