SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from Birmingham

david_taurus83

Evening all!

I'm David and live on the southern outskirts of Birmingham. I'm a complete beginner though have always been interested in the heavens. Already been looking at telescopes! Have an idea of what I'm after and will prob buy a decent used setup to get me started. My main concern is being disappointed and put off if light pollution where I live spoils the fun. So looking for some advice from you fine folk. Anyone from Birmingham/West Mids on here who can comment on how light pollution affects viewing? Or any advice from folk who live around towns and cities? My back garden should be ok to start me off by getting used to the telescope and observing the moon, maybe even some of the planets on a cool clear night. Anything further then I'll probably have to move somewhere higher and darker. Any tips appreciated!

Thanks

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply