Narrowband

new scope on the way

i have just purchased a selection nexstar 8se scope

im still really new to this . i currently own a 200 skywatcher dobs but i spend longer looking for something than i do looking at something 

im terrible at learning what stars are called so im hoping for some advice so i can align the scope easier

many thanks 

32 minutes ago, darren west said:

i have just downloaded it , just need to see how to calibrate it to my location 

When aligning the scope with either 1,2 or 3 stars.........etc..............make sure you enter the date in the American format (mm/dd/yy)

You can also enter your location by Long/Lat coordinates or pick the nearest big city to you.

Set the time to GMT. In the summer (when the clocks go forward again) you will have to reset it to BST.

Darren,

I assume you mean setting Stellarium to your location, Witham, Essex.

With Stellarium running, press the "F6" key; this will bring up the "Location" window. At the top right of this window is an alphabetical list of the world's major towns and cities. I would suggest you select either "Braintree, Britain (UK)" or "Chelmsford, Britain (UK)", and then tick the "Use current location as default" box (bottom left corner). This should get you close enough to your location. When you are more familiar with Stellarium, you can set-up '"Witham with more accurate coordinates (if you start the name with ' and then " it will place the name at the top of the list).

Geoff

Eventually you will want it:

Witham Data:

Longitude: 000  43 East,  might be +000  43

Latitude: 51  48 N

Timezone will be UTC 0, might be 00

Time is what your watch says and DST will be Off.