Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

buy autoguider for EQ5 or buy HEQ5

I am asking for your advice, buy autoguider for EQ5 or buy a HEQ5 (without an autoguider).

I have a skywatcher 130PDS (4 kg) and an EQ5 with enhanced dual axis motor, which has a ST4 interface for an autoguider.  It does not have a go to, so I use a finder to find objects (I like doing that). 

I am getting star trails sometimes in my images, and that can be in 30 second exposure, or even 15 second ones.  I am still learning how to polar align and balance the telescope. 

So, I wondering whether it would be worth investing in an HEQ5 or whether just getting a autoguider would help a lot.  The autoguider would itself add weight.  If the autoguider would make a substantial difference, then I would prefer to do that as it would be a lot cheaper.

Grateful for your views

Thank you

Gerard  

Hi Gerard,

I have an EQ5 Pro and a 130PDS and can get 180 seconds without star trails without guiding. Balancing and polar alignment are the key things to getting the best out of the EQ5. Have a look at one of the polar alignment apps, maybe something like Sharpcap  http://www.sharpcap.co.uk/sharpcap/polar-alignment it will make life so much easier.

Clear skies

Ian

Learn to get the polar alignment better. That is the basis of setting up an equitorial mount for imaging. If you add a location in then there may well be a club or similar to get along to in order to gather in help and information. I have to go ask a bit of a stupid one from someone I know soon. The answer will be either some explanation I cannot understand, or, "Are you stupid? Of course it is! What else do you think it could be?" Really do hope it is the latter.

Polar alignment seems a pain but it is fundimentally straightforward you need to set up the mount and although not essential setting it as level as you can just makes things more logical. Then finding out where Polaris should be sitting on the reticule.