Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Star party with cub scouts

Schism

Hello,

Curious if there are any resources here for hosting start parties for kids ages 6 to 10.

Will bring my 12" LX200 for some decent viewing.

Weather is to be clear and crisp for 2 nights during our camp out.

Thanks, and hope to gain some friends here!

Will say that at outreach I have found that a dobsonian is not great, they are generally not something that a complete novice can aim at a point in the sky and see something. There is a learning curve with a dobsonian, and a 5 or 10 minutes introduction to one is insufficent.

A small goto will be easy fo them to see things with, you need tracking more then anything to just keep whatever object selected in the field of view.

14 hours ago, rockystar said:

I've also discovered that, as much as I enjoy star hopping,  it isn't a spectator sport. 

Right?

Here's how it usually goes with my 6-year-old daughter:
Go play for a little while, I need to put it all together first. Yes, I know you're excited. Just be patient, sweety. (Twenty minutes later) Now I need to collimate my mirrors. Hold on, I need a few more stars to come out so I can do my alignment. (Ten minutes later) Okay, let me find something interesting to look at. Honey, the North Star isn't very interesting. No, that's still below the horizon and not out right now. No, Pluto is too small to see or to even be able to tell what you're looking at. (Five minutes later) Okay, I've got Jupiter/Saturn/Whatever, I just need to get it centered and swap out my eyepiece so you can see it better. Hang on, let me get it focused for you. (A few minutes later) There, go ahead and take a look. What do you mean you can't see it? It was right there. Let me see. It must have been bumped. Don't touch the telescope. Hold on, let me find it again. (Five minutes later). There, sweetheart. Hey, where'd you go? At this point all interest is lost and she's run off.