Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher dual speed focuser

Hi everyone, 

This is my first post - I am a beginner in this hobby, although I've been interested in all the shiny things 'up there' since I was small and always wanted (but never got) a scope. 

Anyway fast forward to 2017 and I recently got my first scope (Skywatcher 200PDS with the dual speed focuser) and a used mount (NEQ6). I have a question that i know will be obvious to anyone who's used a scope before... 

Can someone tell me what the small knob is that is circled in this pic? Is it a tensioner (if so how should I adjust it) or simply a focus lock? 

And why is this too obvious to be mentioned in the manual that came with the scope? :-) 

Thank you to anyone who can help and I look forward to being a member of the forum. 

Rick 

focuser.png

I asked about that thumbscrew before, for visual, I had the suggestion to simply remove it from the focuser and store it.

Very great focuser too with the precise dual speed, I love it. I could not accept anything else with less precision now.

Skywatcher gets their dual-focus Crayford's from GSO, which makes many different sizes and types for different telescopes. And that is indeed a lock-bolt for the focuser. This feature is also found on my GSO Crayford that fits my ST80 F/5 Refractor:

59e29be64e03b_CrayfordTension-Boltb.thumb.JPG.cc3ea44d55894d5874397a09d3ba0b02.JPG

These are excellent focuser, by the way. It should last a lifetime. I love mine so well, I outfitted 4 of my telescopes with these. Never looked back!

Enjoy!

Dave

On my AT72ED, the knob is the focus lock and the center of the five screws as shown in this image is the tension screw.  The focus lock can be useful visually when using a heavy eyepiece or binoviewer in the focuser to help the tension screw hold focus.  You want to set tension as low as possible for normal loads to maintain smooth focuser movement with a light touch.

22 hours ago, Dave In Vermont said: