Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Binning - at capture, or after???

iapa

I’ve been looking around for a while, but haven’t found anything definitive.

Binning

is it best to bin when capturing or after?

this query is specific to the ZWO 1600MM-C

Are there any benefits to either 2x2 binning, via capture software, or to capture at 1x1 then use post processing software to bin to 2x2?

this is, another, area where I cannot get my head around even the benefits of binning, let alone when to do it ?

I'm no expert but I think you should do the binning when you capture and it' is done in the cam. It is done by combing eg. 4 pixels in to one bigger pixel which will be able to capture more photons than a single pixel alone.

With CCD sensor you want to bin at capture - in hardware. With CMOS sensor like in ASI1600 I would go for software bin. It should not really matter if it is done by driver or software afterwards, except for two differences:

1. I'm not sure if there is loss of precision if done in driver (it should not be, since ADC is 12bit so there are couple of bits to spare and be used by binning). But this part can be easily "measured". Take one sub without binning and examine values - they should all be divisible by 16 (this is because only top 12bits are used by ASI1600 so lower 4 bits are set to 0). Now take one sub binned 2x2 by driver and examine file. If you still get all pixel values divisible by 16 that is not good - do it in software, but if you get all values only divisible by 4 then it is ok to bin at capture time.

2. By binning in driver (at capture time) you end up with less disk space usage - each sub is 4 times smaller than unbinned (this is true for both CCD and CMOS).