Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Better views of andromeda? + other questions

Lister

Hello all!

I'm very new to astronomy, having lots of fun so far - even though I've mostly just been spinning the telescope around without much purpose, it has been really cool. I did manage to find and split Epsilon Lyrae, and I'm getting slowly acquainted with the constellations. I haven't posted much but I have been reading / absorbing while quietly doing my thing :)

Last night, my finderscope was absolutely useless. It's the stock x50 that came with my skyliner 200p, I checked that it was aligned before I started but in no time at all everything felt blurry and out of focus when looking through it. I think the finderscope lens must have gotten covered in dew?

I struggled on without using the finderscope and eventually managed to find Andromeda by looking through the main scope and star hopping (this took a while!). Now that I've found it once it should be easier next time.

After a few nights stargazing I do have some questions:

1/ Can you focus a finderscope? I tried twisting the end a little but it didn't seem to do anything

2/ I have a hard time getting sharp focus, it seems very fiddly getting that sweet spot. Is this normal? Is it a collimation issue? It's not so bad at 48x but gets harder with each higher power

3/ I tried a 'star test' with a high powered EP but at no point did I see anything resembling concentric rings?

4/ What can I do to improve my views of andromeda? The core was highly visible although basically just a fuzzy white ball, and it was very difficult to make out any details of the arms etc. Would darker skies help? I was observing on the patio last night but could move further down the garden if it will help. I'm also only 15mins drive from a dark sky site

Thanks in advance

- Lister

Hi,