Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eastern and Western Veil

FenlandPaul

It’s been months since I last had the dob out; we seem to have had a very murky September so far and work commitments during June and July meant that very late nights weren’t particularly achievable.  But finally last night I seemed to have a window of opportunity, so out it came.  Whilst clear, the sky wasn’t especially transparent and the Milky Way – usually fairly distinct from my location – seemed subdued.  But still, it wasn’t thundering!!

On holiday in France in August, from a beautifully dark site, I’d had a whale of a time with my 70ED around the Sagittarius and Scorpius and also up in Cygnus.  In fact, I bagged the Veil for the first time ever.  That’s something I’m a little ashamed of – I’ve been observing on and off for 25 years but somehow the Veil had always escaped.  Maybe it was a lack of filters until recently, maybe it was looking through it in the past or looking for it in less than ideal skies.  But I was determined to see it on holiday and it didn’t disappoint – both sections clearly seen in the 31mm Nagler’s gigantic field.  I couldn’t wait to come home and explore it with the dob.  And last night I got that opportunity.

As everyone does, I located it via 52 Cygni using the Telrad and the 31N with a Castell OIII filter.  I then tried to see if I would have been able to locate it without the OIII filter: the western complex was a faint wavy wisp to the north of 52, while the eastern complex was a less faint, thicker sweeping arc about 1 degree long.  There was a distinct smudginess to 52 Cygni.  It’s quite likely I would have overlooked them in these conditions without the filter.  The TFOV with the 31N in this scope is 1.67 degrees, so the two components had to be observed separately although sweeping between them was effortless.