SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Kit improvement / usage advice

Hi All,

As per my welcome thread, I'm rather new at Astro photography but not to photography in general as I've been taking photographs of a ether bands for a while.

As this is a rather new area I've pretty much visited the forums to get general comparisons and advice as well as dedicated photography forums, I'd appreciate if anyone could give me some pointers on the initial kit I have and if there is any way I could improve it or even use it more affectivly.

My main aim is for this to be a "mobile" setup which is currently ~21KG mainly due to camera kit weight and tripod.

I have a D7200 camera completely stock
70-300mm Nikon Lens (which is 105-450 equivalent on the D7200 body) - I'm intending on using this for deeper field photos
11-20mm Tokina Lens (which is APC-C so Nikon DX size)

I bought a star adventurer Astro kit (after taking the first 2 back as they came up with the flashing button error code), I did mount this on a carbon fibre travel tripod and found that it wasn't solid enough so purchased a Manfrotto 055XPro3 which is very heavy in comparison but very solid (for a "cheap" camera tripod).

On the advise of a mate who is seriously into his Astro photography I "Blindly"  (when I say blindly I mean without serious research) purchased a QHY Polemaster which I have to say I've really impressed with.

I bought a few 5M USB cables and a 5M active USB hub with a USB power adapter which hooks into a Anker 28600mAh battery.

I have a Lenovo T440 with spare batteries (manly because I can swap the battery in the field as they have an internal one too!

I'm currenty running a trail version of Backyard Nikon, however intend to purchase it.

If you haven't read my introduction thread yet, then I'm just about to travel to Crete which pretty much inspired my step into Astro photography so any last minute amendments welcome.