Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Tamron 150-600

Likwid

Hello,

I am new to Astrophotography and I have posted a few questions already. I am using an Orion ST80 with a Skywatcher Star Adventurer and I am getting decent results. I have a Tamron 150-600 for my normal photography and I decided to attach it and take a test shot. I wasn't concerned about the weight of the lens as I have a balanced counterweight kit with it. I am imaging with a Rebel XS that I modded myself and removed the IR/Cut filter and I am also using BackyardEOS to control everything. I tried 5 test shots and stacked them in DSS (I think 90 seconds) and some strange black orbs showed up in my frame in the upper right. It happened to a few different frames so it wasn't a fluke. It is on the originals also before I stacked. I don't use this lens very often and I am very careful with the caps so I doubt any dust is in it. I took shots of the eclipse with it (With an Orion Solar Filter) and the night before before I took shots of the moon and they all came out normal. I also took normal test shots after during the day and they seemed normal also. I'll see if I can find the original image, but this is after editing trying to get them out. Thanks in advance for any help!

36553517590_89926cf4df_o.jpg

Water spot stains spring to mind. They are not just top right, but all over the image if you look closely.

Rule out the camera and sensor dust etc by taking some shots against a dark background with a different lens. A bright background could easily mask them.

I don't seem to have dust ingress into either of my big Tamrons they are pretty well sealed IMHO.

Of course they could be something else entirely.

Rich