Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi All,

Now that my observatory is finished, I wanted to do a as accurate polar alignment as I humanly could do for my Astro Imaging and so started a adventure.

I ended up getting a decent polar alignment after a few tries using different methods and wanted to share my results for anyone out there who needs help in polar aligning their EQ mount with the simplest instructions I can put to words.

I want to start by saying  that unfortunately it is time consuming and there is NO SHORT CUT if you want accurate PA. The more time you spend on it the more accurate your scope will be aligned to the pole.

The below procedure worked for me in the southern hemisphere, but it should work just as well, except change the celestial equator from north to south for the azimuth adjustment.

I got a copy of AlignMaster and with the original file, I was very limited to the stars that I was able to use for the alignment, this was due to my house, the observatory hut. Another problem was that the alignment using AlignMaster never coincided with the alignment when I used the Polar scope and/or Celestrons "All Star Polar Alignment feature" (ASPA), not even close. Usually out by a factor of 6-7 DEGREES when checking using celestron polar alignment feature to measure the polar alignment (procedure described below). 

I tried to run the procedure a number of times, again with limited star selection and the polar alignment compared to ASPA was still way off. I determined that perhaps there are not enough southern stars in the sterne.txt list so I added more stars, carefully made sure that they were J2000 down to arc second detail, all southern biased, all below 15 degrees DEC, and yes I had more stars to chose from in Alignmaster but the result was the same as before, 6-7 degrees OFF!!