SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello!

I have some questions about what accessories to get for my Celestron Nexstar 4se. Keep in mind that this'll be my first telescope and I'm really excited to see the moon and planets like Jupiter and Saturn! I looked for starter guides on which accessories are a must but I didn't find any. Will I need specific eye pieces (I know nothing about eye pieces and which ones are better, etc.) to see some planets clearly? I'm fairly new to astronomy so any helpful tip would be great! 

Thank you

The 4SE is nearly an f13 scope, so the highest EP you would be able to use is a 6mm EP. This is good for lunar and planetary work. For wide field views  with this scope either a 25mm or 32mm EP would give good results. I have a C8 SCT with an f ratio of f10 and get nice results on DSO's with an 18mm EP which gives a magnification of 112x. A similar EP in your scope to give the same magnification would be a 12mm EP with magnification of 110x.

Depending on your budget for your EP's there are lots to chose from. If you can stay away from plossls and get something better. BST Explorer EP's are pretty good and not too expensive and much better than stock EP's or plossls. As usual the more expensive the EP the better views it should give, but don't assume there will be a massive difference for the price though. I wouldn't bother with any kind of Barlow for this scope, so I would first off just get 2 or three good mid range EP's to use like those sizes I quoted above.

11 minutes ago, Knighty2112 said: