Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher star discovery mount

Need a bit of advise! I'm new to Skywatcher mounts always had celestron or Meade. I've just got the star discovery mount and all looks great and appears to work well (not star tested it yet).

just a quick question, on maximum slew number 9 it's a consistent noise clockwise, but sounds a bit up and down in noise anti clockwise.

any other slew number down from 9 sound smooth in both directions. 

Is that normal?

12 minutes ago, Nigel G said:

That doesn't happen with mine, smooth on all speed rates all directions 

Nige.

Mine rotates super smoothly no judder at all it's just the noise changes in pitch up and down if that makes sense in one direction but not the other

10 hours ago, steve_bham said:

Mine rotates super smoothly no judder at all it's just the noise changes in pitch up and down if that makes sense in one direction but not the other

Sure :) 

I just tried mine on rate 9, all directions, the sound is smooth no pitch change.

Are you using an external battery pack, mains supply or internal AAA's ?

Nige.

10 minutes ago, Nigel G said:

Sure :) 

I just tried mine on rate 9, all directions, the sound is smooth no pitch change.

Are you using an external battery pack, mains supply or internal AAA's ?

Nige.

External batterpack. I've uploaded a video so you can hear the sound difference, what do you think?

Hmm, sounds like a sticky spot or a motor with a minor issue, If it only does it on rate 9 I don't think I would worry to much.

Does it happen when aligning ?

It's under guarantee still, maybe contact SW or the supplier for advice.

Nige.

1 minute ago, Nigel G said:

Hmm, sounds like a sticky spot or a motor with a minor issue, If it only does it on rate 9 I don't think I would worry to much.

Does it happen when aligning ?

It's under guarantee still, maybe contact SW or the supplier for advice.

Nige.