SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

2017 Observing (or lack thereof)

Ccolvin968

So this is my first time back on the forum in a while now, so it's good to be back.

I won't lie, 2017 has been an absolutely desolate year for observing for me.

This year, I've been out maybe four or five times, and two of those were naked eye observing. One was for the Perseid Meteor shower, that for my location peaked at 9/hr. I'm hoping that September through December can be more productive, but because of the cold temps on the way, it makes it tough. Even though 2017 has been a complete bust for me, it makes me want to get out more and more.

I have already been putting my 2018 list together for things I absolutely need/want to see next year. 3C273 is my number one target at the moment. Another goal, although not an object in the sky, but I am also joining my astronomy club here in Minnesota. It'll be great to go to the star parties that they have and get to meet other people who have the same interests as I do. My wife and relatives could care less about space/astronomy. :( Along with that, I also got a new Meade Series 5000 UWA 20mm for Christmas that I never got to actually try out. But it compliments my Meade UWA 14mm and 8.8mm, so nowhere to go but up from there, right?

What are all of you looking forward to in 2018? Anything specific? Anything you're hoping for?

Clear skies!

I only got my telescope last Christmas so there was a few things I missed out on earlier in the year due. I'm keen to see some galaxies in Virgo and the Ghost of Jupiter planetary nebula (NGC 3242). I think Mars is supposed to be in a slightly better position next year so that's high up on the list too

1 hour ago, Littleguy80 said: