Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

6 inch scope; what can I see

DanyalAG

Hello everyone I'm a relative newbie to astronomy. I have a 6 inch dobsonian. Until now, I've seen all the planets, and some DSOs. My main goal is hunting DSOs; however. My question is what is the limit of objects or detail with this instrument. I have seen the dust lanes in andromeda, as well as M33 and NGC 604. I've also seen six of the moons of Saturn. The dimmest of which was around 12.8 mag. So here are some general questions:

1. Will I be able to see Pluto from like Bortle 1 skies.

2. Will I be able to see the Horsehead nebula.

3. Will I be able to see the spiral arms of galaxies.

4. Will I be able to see 3C 273

any help at all would be appreciated 

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1. Yes, easily. Pluto is magnitude 14.2 I think. Under Bortle 1 skies (I wish I had some of those!) your scope should have a limiting magnitude of 15.5 or better. (Note that you won't see moons of Saturn that are this faint, because of the glare from the planet.) But Pluto looks just like a star, so either you need a star chart that goes down to about magnitude 14.5 or you need to sketch the field on two different days and see which "star" moved.

2. Do you have a hydrogen-beta filter? If so, then probably yes from reasonably dark skies. It might be doable from a Bortle 1 site without a filter.

3. From Bortle 1 skies you should be able to see spiral arms in quite a few galaxies. But I reckon from Bortle 4 you might not be able to see any at all except perhaps hints of the ones in M51.

4. Yes this is magnitude 13 so much easier than Pluto. You should be able to see it even from suburban skies. From a Bortle 1 site you should be able to see the lensed quasar J014709+463037 (Andromeda's Parachute) which is much more distant than 3C 273.

4 minutes ago, harrym said: