Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Problems with mini PC at the pier....

Hi All.

I bought a quad core mini PC a while back to have at my pier, controlled vis teamviewer...so that I would not need the long USB cables which had caused me issues in past.

I have now got an EQ6 mount which I am still learning to use, and as of yet not used in anger, just for testing purposes. When all connected up and ready to go, i turn all on, and start to slew and after a few seconds the computer turns off, also this happens when the PC and mount are plugged into the same 15 amp power supply...but even when I put the PC on its own power supply the PC still just switches off for no apparent reason other than being used, ie, camera connected or EQMOD connected either via BT or EQMOD cable, so there seems no apparent pattern to this....any ideas...?? 

I have even just had the mount connected via BT module (so no wires) mount and PC on different power supply’s, and still after a few mins the PC will just switch off for no reason, and sometimes won’t turn back on until the power supply jack plug is removed and left for a minute or so, then plugged back in and then it will switch back on.....is it maybe overheating..??

It also will switch off every time I either plug, or unplug USB cables from the PC, especially the EQMOD cable..

or is there an allternative to a PC at the pier and long USB cables..??

Thanks in advance for any help.. :)

Hi Lightbucket

Probably a faulty power supply in your PC.

Alternatively:

I have my PC in the warmroom, with a second monitor in the dome.

Occasionally I power up but forget to switch on the powered hub in the dome.

When I switch it on the dome monitor display disappears momentarily.

I think this is due to floating earths, the equipment at the end of the USB's are putting volts onto the PC.

I expect those who power their equipment from a single bench power supply don't have this problem.

Michael

17 minutes ago, michael8554 said: