Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

500D + Carl Zeiss Jena 2.8 135mm, first light, M31

cuivenion

Took this last night, my first night out in a while. It's my first time using a DSLR and I made a few schoolboy errors, like not covering the viewfinder and and not adjusting weights after going past the meridian. Taken with a Canon 500D with a Carl Zeiss Jena 2.8 135mm at F5.6 on a HEQ5.

50 x 180s Unguided

12x darks

20 x Flats

20 x Bias

8bitM31.thumb.jpg.8d5e67f0b008120826d17c9fab9f76c1.jpg

Stacked in DeepSkyStacker and processed in GIMP 2.9.5. Any criticism welcome.

Thanks Martin, I have cropped this image. The corners were showing distortions even at F5.6, and also I didn't perform a meridian flip and the galaxy went off center, probably due to a sudden weight imbalance. I'm not sure sure if the severe chromatic aberation is due to the lens or maybe I over exposed? It's very noticable in the larger resolution picture and gives the whole image a reddish look. All that being said I'm still happy with it and its the best image I've got yet. Wouldn't mind a bit of constructive criticism though lol.

Yes - I think that's very nice! The core isnt blown out which can be a problem.

Not sure quite why the colour seems a bit too orangey on my screen. I hope you dont mind - I had a bit of a twiddle with it... do you think its maybe better? Maybe not! Changed the colour balance and made stars a bit smaller.

Untitled-1.png.ad8ad54b33c41baabbdf198c24e0bf2b.png

Nice start.

Regarding the noise, I have a 500D too, so would guess you had ISO at 1600 ?

Try 800 with longer exposures, but that might be too much for your unguided mount.

Stars have red halos, which might be a DSS artefact, or lens CA.

Here's my tweak, I've tried to remove the green speckles and minimise the red halos, but the galaxy isn't as good perhaps:

Image1.jpg.43c6dc7ee58c4ca7bd0e65f6ec5d6e01.jpg

16 hours ago, Tommohawk said: