Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi!

I'm planning to buy my first mount, a Skywatcher Star Adventurer, mainly for wide field shots, with portability in mind! This would be a stepping stone for better mounts later. I was looking around on the used market, when someone approached me with a self designed and built (H)EQ3 mount for sale:

- controlled with EQMOD
- GOTO
- NEMA 17 0.9° stepping motor
- 3D printed electronic box and motor sockets
- Bluetooth
- Guiding port

Picture attached of the EQ3.

I have no experience with mounts like these. The seller says it is accurate up to 400mm with a DSLR+lens combination, and it's portable, but I don't know how heavy it is. I can sacrifice some portability, if it's way better than a Star Adventurer in terms of pure tracking and performance.

Is it?

Thanks in advance!

IMG_20170823_172933.jpg

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

normally I would think that the star adventurer would be better than the eq3 for wide field stuff, but since this eq3 is modified it might be better. The EQ3 does have goto which is a big plus when it comes to astrophotography, plus its got everything that the star adventurer has. It is also sturdier, so if you wanted to you could attach some kind of scope to it in the future, but if portability is really an issue then go for the star adventurer. I don't know the exact specifications, but I would guess that the eq3 is about 5kg heavier, and its bulkier.

Now I'm gonna let somebody who actually knows what they're talking about have a turn! :happy8: