Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Problems Counter Balancing the Sky Watcher Star Adventurer

Astro Buer

Hi,

I will be the first to admit I'm a complete novice when it comes to equatorial mounts but I am hoping to find the advice I need on here as scouring the net for the last few days has brought me no joy.

I recently bought a Sky Watcher Star Adventurer Mount with the Astro Bundle (equatorial wedge, mounting plate, 1KG counter weight and shaft)

I am primarily going to use this for wide field as this is what the product does best, but one of the reasons I bought the Adventurer is that it is advertised as being able to handle a 5KG payload, and as I also own a Sigma 150-600mm lens I was hoping to be able to mount this and crack at shooting at longer focal lengths. I don't expect the results to be amazing, and I do expect to throw a lot of the subs away! but I still want to give it a try.

My setup entails:

Sony A7R2 - 625g

Sigma 150-600 - 1930g

Manfrotto XPRO Ball Head - 500g

Plus mounting bracket for Star Adventurer 

All in all this weighs in at just over 3kg, so tops 3.5kg with bracket. Still under the 5kg payload...

But I cannot counterbalance the setup with the weight supplied with the Star Adventurer! it is WAY too heavy on the camera side - it just doesn't balance at all... I've even tried removing the screw on the shaft to slide the weight as far down as it can go but still grip, and it's still way off being anywhere near balanced.

It is advertised as being able to balance a 5KG (or 11lb) payload with this weight and shaft setup... as I said I don't expect it to be perfect and I know you should never overload a mount but I thought being 1.5Kg under the threshold would at least give me a chance of being able to balance in sufficiently.