Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

EQ3 pro power adapter

Hi everyone,

I have just bought an eq3 pro. I initially plugged it in and nothing happened so I brought the cigarette lighter adapter out to the car and it began to work. 

Just wondering is this how you charge it or do you have to leave it plugged in while you are using it? (Newbie here)

Thanks a million 

20 minutes ago, Cornelius Varley said:

The mount is powered externally and requires a 12 volt power supply for it to work. Either a regulated 12 volt adapted producing at least 5 amps or a 12 volt deep cycle leisure battery are suitable.

Thanks very much! 

Does this mean I have to keep it connected to the car while using it? Or can I plug it in throughout the day and then use the controller later? (Using the car adapter it came with)

Sorry if these questions are ridiculous! ?

No, you aren't charging it when you plugged it into your car as there is no actual battery in the mount or control boxes. It has to be connected to an external 12V source all the time. Until you obtain another source of power you will have to plug it in to your car while you're using it. The other end of the cigarette lighter cable you have, has a 2.1mm DC connector which plugs into your Synscan EQ3 box. Mains adaptors (if you are using it near a source of mains) will often have the 2.1mm connector on their output lead which can plug directly into the Synscan EQ3 box. You need to confirm that the 2.1mm connector is wired with the centre pin as positive. Most of the mains adaptors are wired this way but you need to confirm it. Also beware of using mains equipment outdoors where it may get damp without using safety precautions.