Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Starting out

I finally took the plunge and decided to get into astrophotography since I have been an actual photographer for 30 years.  I really didn't know what I was getting into.  I figured I would start out small so I bought a celestron 150mm Newtonian and the CG-4 mount, motors etc just to see how it all worked.  Now I have a Barlow, 5mm eyepiece, and enough T-Rings and adapters for all my Sony and Nikon FX/DX cameras.  So much fro keeping to a budget.  I know the mount is everything but I'll upgrade that next year, the scope seems to work great, I have some amazing shots of the moon already, quite surprised me, although my camera skills likely made the whole process somewhat easier.  I eventually want to get into DSO photography, so I won't be drinking for the next couple of years, or eating much either by the look of it.  Might have to sell the kids....  In all seriousness it's great to be here, there seem to be many very skilled and knowledgeable people which I'm hoping will help me along.  I will be In Carbondale IL to shoot and video the eclipse on Monday, hopefully the weather will hold up.  Not sure where to post images so you can all critique my work, someone will have to point me in the right direction.  I shoot RAW as the name suggests, mostly because I shoot to print.  JPEGS are OK for the WEB etc.  OK, that's the intro.  I'm English BTW, emigrated to the US in 94, ended up staying, I got too used to driving on the wrong side of the road.  Updated with my first ever telescope photo of the moon.

Bob.

Moon Shot.jpg