Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Telescope adapter

Hi,

This is probably a really stupid question but I am a newbie to all this! I bought an adapter for my Canon EOS 400D to attach it to my telescope through a x2 Barlow lens. I tried taking some images last night, just pointing and shooting for 15 secs to see if anything came out but I didn't capture anything. My question is have I wasted my money or can I actually get decent images via my telescope (like close ups of say Andromeda or other galaxies) as opposed to using the camera lenses and if so, what was I doing wrong to not get an image appear? 

Sounds like it could be a number of things, we need more info.  Where you targeting anything in particular? Or perhaps it wasn't focused? You would use the liveview function to do this normally. 

Try it in the daytime with something distant, then move on the the moon for example.

40 minutes ago, scitmon said:

Sounds like it could be a number of things, we need more info.  Where you targeting anything in particular? Or perhaps it wasn't focused? You would use the liveview function to do this normally. 

Try it in the daytime with something distant, then move on the the moon for example.

Good idea. I tried Saturn and it looked like an orange blob...my camera doesn't have a live view function, only a tiny view finder, which is why I'm wondering whether to send the adapter back as I'm always going to struggle. I wasn't aiming at anything specific, just up at the Lyra area in the hope that it might capture something using different focussing. What is the potential of using a telescope like mine to take photos in this way? Would it better than using a 70-300mm lens for example? If not, then I will send the adapter back.

This looks like my telescope: https://www.firstlightoptics.com/reflectors/skywatcher-explorer-130m.html