SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

DIY low res slit spectrograph based on StarAnalyzer proposal / need a bit of help

To say that I'm fairly new to spectrography is a bit of an understatement :D.

I do have SA200 and all the imaging gear, and I did have a go couple of times using it both visually and capturing spectrum of a star.

Now I'm considering to give it a bit more time / dedication on those Moon lit nights when DSO imaging / observing is unfeasible.

I do understand drawbacks of SA200, and I was thinking how to overcome some of them, and came up with what I believe is feasible / cheap DIY solution for increasing resolution (not sure here but I believe so) and enhancing spectral graph extraction.

Drawbacks of SA as I see them are:

1. Grating is "operating" on converging / unfocused beam of light - this means that 0 order and higher order image is not in focus at the same time unless one tilts imaging plane (or use prism in grism configuration).

2. No way to eliminate other sources of light on chip where spectrum is recorded - like lp/sky background, background stars (0 order images), other spectra overlapping due to grating orientation (this can be worked around by rotating things until there is no overlap).

3. Resolution depends on seeing / FWHM of star image

So my obvious line of reasoning was that some sort of slit needs to be added to the system in order to fix issues 2 and 3. To fix issue 1, grating needs to be placed somewhere where light beam is collimated / in focus, and also primary focal plane needs to be free to accept the slit - slit will function well only if at focal plane.

So I came up with following setup that I think will work good:

CCD -> SA Grating -> Eyepiece -> Slit at focal plane of eyepiece - > Telescope / guider / whatever else