Narrowband

Newquay and Surrounding Area

DavidJM

Hi all

I'm quite new to astronomy and also find that most astronomy clubs meet during the week when I'm typically away for work. So I thought I would start a thread for anyone wanting to chat about their experiences in Cornwall, anyone wanting to help newbies out like me, offer observation lists, recommendations for observing sites etc. With a focus on this wonderful county I call home. Would love to hear from anyone like me who may not have got to the stage of joining a club but has a buzz for the hobby and wants to share their experiences

After what seems like weeks of cloudy skies I managed to find M29 in Cygnus last night with my Heritage 100P, rather pleased!

2 hours ago, bottletopburly said:

Have you tried the  roseland observatory at St Stephen, for info

Hi, I follow their fb page but haven't visited yet, need a combination of meet date, clear skies and not working, have you been?

22 hours ago, ronin said:

http://www.astronomyclubs.co.uk/Clubs/Default.aspx?CountyId=18

Looks like Callington has ceased.

The Roseland one check out how they operate seem to think it is not quite as a "normal" club.

The Tolcarn one looks different.

I could walk to where Kernow Astonomers meet but its usually in the week I think when I'm away, have heard they have nights at carewas at weekends sometimes, anyone been to one?

Did you look at the Kernow Astonomers webpage, well the one before it on that link?

I noticed that it had to be written by someone that was unaware of the meaning of Kernow, it said:   Address: Kernow, Cornwall. :icon_biggrin::icon_biggrin:

So it is at Cornwall, in Cornwall. Someone should notify the club list maintainers that the location is St Columb Major.

I see they have a public viewing night on Sept 2nd. Seems it could be worth a visit to get a feel for them and ask a few questions.